Cinquain for Rue

“The Hunger Games” was mentioned a fair amount in my tasty fooding blog yesterday.  Keeping in the same vein (and in my failure to think of anything new and exciting today – I’m blaming a cough), I thought I’d share the little poem I wrote (consulting with my mother and one of my sisters for some of the more significant word choices) a few weeks before the very successful Hunger Games film was released in hope of winning a replica of Katniss’s arena jacket.  I didn’t come close, but I did like the poem.  It’s a simple style I’d almost completely forgotten about – my memory was jogged by the two-page spread devoted to these poems in the now previous edition of New Horizons 3, an English textbook for third year middle school students in Japan.  After a rapid Google search  (“poem – one word, two words, three words, four words, one word” being the search terms) I have learned this five line poem is called a cinquain, but already different sites are calling the particular format I followed format A, or type 3, and there are probably any number of other attempts at further classification.  I think I’ll just stick with a type of cinquain.

Here’s the poem, in any case.  I don’t think it’s particularly hard to place it in the timeline of Hunger Games events.

deliverance

netted, speared

swaddled in blossoms

the mockingjay chorale swells

defiance



One thought on “Cinquain for Rue

  1. Pingback: Cinquain for a Stone Rhinoceros | doll thermometer

Leave a Reply

