I Find Spinning So Entirely Entertaining

And now, for a little remedial nonsense:

I find spinning so entirely entertaining

Got ribbons and some balls on string, they’re all tied up just right

And I find spinning so entirely entertaining

My backyard’s just a blur and I’m a sight

 I find spinning so entirely entertaining

I’d go out in the cold of night and juggle in the dark

Cause I find spinning so entirely entertaining

Sublime, its sure to please a great white shark

I’m good for now

I said I’m good for now

I’m good for now

Yes, I’m good for now

Cause I know I’m free

As much as I may be

For now

And

 I find spinning so entirely entertaining

I’d travel from Japan to Wales in search of unique tricks

And I find spinning so entirely entertaining

Don’t you think all those who sneer are real big pricks?

I find spinning so entirely entertaining

Got friends and we all twirl around and wind up in a heap

Cause I find spinning so entirely entertaining

but the slippery slope to pain can get quite steep

I’m good for now

I said I’m good for now

I’m good for now

Yes, I’m good for now

Cause I know I’m free

As much as I may be

For now

And

I find spinning so entirely entertaining

Don’t feel the need to blow no minds or keep em on their toes

Cause I find spinning so entirely entertaining

That I won’t even stop to blow my nose

I’m good for now

I said I’m good for now

I’m good for now

Yes, I’m good for now

Cause I know I’m free

So far as I can see

For now

I find spinning so entirely entertaining

Those streamers whip above my head in red and green and gold

And I find spinning so entirely entertaining

That I’ll keep my spin on once the fad grows old

This has been tucked away for awhile, the original written not long after I “took up” poi spinning. I imagine these novelty lyrics with a simple guitar and piano accompaniment, maybe a violin to challenge the vocals every now and then with a bit of a country feel, and it’s always had Missy Higgins’s voice. Any ideas for more verses? I reckon it could go on forever … though that probably wouldn’t be a good thing. Makes me smile for now, anyway, and I hope it’s somewhat pleasing to a few others, too.

One thought on “I Find Spinning So Entirely Entertaining

  1. Pingback: O! Happy the narwhal be – Sonnet #1 | doll thermometer

Leave a Reply

