New Toys Are Fun

Have to thank Roger Colby for bringing this site to my attention – an awesome analyser that informs which famous authors your writing style resembles.  It looked like such a fun new toy that when I got home from work yesterday and read about it, immediately I had to know which author’s spirit and style is embodied by each and every one of my novel chapters.  Thus, spent the entire time Mum was cooking our last dinner together in Japan – a scrumptious pasta concoction filled with imagination and all things salvageable/edible in my pantry and fridge – and much of the time within the actual eating process copying and pasting and hitting analyse.  Thought I’d share an overview of percentages.  Sorry, this is to be a highly self indulgent blog.  As in, far more self indulgent than usual.

So, by scanning each chapter and calculating the appropriate percentages, my book reads as follows:

Corey Doctorow – 17.5%;  Kurt Vonnegut – 10%;  Margaret Mitchell – 10%;  Chuck Palahniuk – 7.5%;  H.P. Lovecraft – 7.5%;  Dan Brown – 7.5%;  William Gibson – 7.5%;  David Foster Wallace – 5%;  Raymond Chandler – 5%;  Gertrude Stein – 5%;  Douglas Adams – 2.5%;  Stephen King – 2.5%;  J.K.Rowling – 2.5%;  James Fenimore Cooper – 2.5%;  Arthur Clark – 2.5%;  Jane Austen – 2.5%;  Anne Rice – 2.5%

Bit of a mix in there.  A large mix.  I haven’t read many of them either – guess that’s just lots of authors I have to look up to start filling out my book journal.  Not sure how good a thing it is, if my style’s changing so much in the one book.  But then, there are some comparisons that just keep popping up, and the analysis takes into account word choice as well as style.  I’m pretty sure that’s the only reason Anne Rice got in there.  At least it wasn’t Stephanie Meyer.  And though awesome, this analyser is still just a toy.  Not, I imagine, wholly accurate.  A bit of fun, gives maybe a little insight into who you could be compared to if you become great.  Not that that fact stopped me playing with it until I seemed to break it.

And I suppose I shouldn’t worry about it at all.  Maybe separately, each chapter seems to read a little differently.  But together, they all still read as me.

Leave a Reply

