My First … Ebook Cover Image! Sound the Trumpets!

As I’ve been occasionally shamelessly plugging right here on my little blog, planning to release my first ebook very soon.  That very-soon-yet-still-unspecified date has just crept astonishingly close in a very short period of time.

My good friend Nathan has been slogging away at the cover, continually assaulted by my (totally un-knowledgeable about graphic design) requests, ideas of questionable merit, and insights.  Not long ago, he sent me the final version.

Due to excitement, currently rendered unable to sleep.

Now, I wish to share.

What do you think?  Dashing, no?

This story, The Chosen Voice, is the first instalment of a fantasy short story cycle called Treading Twisted Lines with Darren, Maddi, and Kai.  Nathan and I had some disagreements regarding the length of the series title + book title, and how it would look on the cover.  I think it all worked out all right in the end.  I hope he’s as happy with the final product as I am.  Nathan – again, thank you so much.  Hope you don’t mind/enjoy continuing to cover image-ify the rest of the series.

Planning on releasing it on Smashwords for 99 cents; still need to do a bit more research into Amazon and decide whether to release it there, too.  I’ll post links along with a self-satisfied celebratory blog once it’s out.  And I’ll let you know the chosen release date before then.  Would like to do a countdown here, but want to release it uber soon even more.  I’ll start doing awesome countdowns once I’m better at this self-publishing thing, and better prepared to do so.  After all, I do love a good countdown.

Should probably try to snooze, now.  Night, all!  Snooze well, when you do!

2 thoughts on “My First … Ebook Cover Image! Sound the Trumpets!

  1. I like it! My only observation would be that it’s very, very dark. Would there be a way to maybe lighten up the microphone – make it more silver, or something? Because in a thumbnail image, I get the feeling that everything but the red text might just look like a wall of black.

    • Thanks for the feedback 🙂 The mic was originally more silver actually, but to me it looked too solid, which doesn’t really match the feeling of the story … to me. I’ve looked at the image when it’s quite small, and I’m pretty sure it’s okay … shall think about it! Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

