The Playlist of Treading Twisted Lines

All of my stories have their own playlists.  Most have been in various forms, some tracks cut and new ones added as the story develops.  I remember at one point having three different playlists for my novel – I couldn’t quite bring myself to delete the old ones, they had been such a part of shaping the story.  They’re all gone now, though.  Changed iTunes to my desktop.

As I said in the my two good music for fantasy posts – Loreena McKennit’s “The Wind That Shakes the Barley” and Cirque du Soleil’s “Varekai” – I like to listen to music that reflects the time, location, and general feel of the story.  For me and my fantasy, this generally means a lot of Celtic, World, and New Age music.  Some songs may be there only for certain characters, reflecting their state of mind or goals.

When it comes to the Treading Twisted Lines series, there’s a bit of a mix in there.  There’s tiny hovel of a town Mirinshita and its hipster karaoke bar where Christine interviews Darren Brown.  There’s the Temple of Bright Waters, a holy sanctuary where Kai seeks refuge – this is in the second book, to be released on my Saturday this week, so long as all goes as it should.  And then, there’s gritty Oshi Daini, a massive urban metropolis.  The desert of the Sato Area.  Nanzan’s mountains, Kitaumi’s seas.  There’s plenty of magic, and also plenty of electronics – I picture the Four Free Area’s technology to be a few rungs above ours.

This mix of scenery and atmosphere calls for a good mix of music.  New Age and such still features quite a lot, but electronica is creeping up in importance, as are a few styles of rock and alternative.

And now, as I’m a huge fan of lists (and because I feel like it …), I shall provide a list of every single artist currently featured on my Treading Twisted Lines playlist.  Argue with me about the genres, if you like – I mostly used the classifications in my iTunes, but they have been known to get it wrong.  A lot.  I may look some up later, try to get it as accurate as possible.  Guess which of their songs are included, if you like the artists.  Guess which artists feature more predominantly – some have entire albums on the playlists, but most of them have only one or two songs included.  Suggest other artists I should be listening to, if you like.  This playlist has done a good job seeing me through the editing of the first two stories, and helped me write the third in good time.  May change in the future, but a good majority of the tracks, I think, will be sticking around for a while.

The Treading Twisted Lines Playlist Artists (in the order they were placed on the list)

Project 46 – House/Electronica; Dot Exe – Drumstep/Electronica; Karl Jenkins – New Age/World; Florence + the Machine – Indie Rock; Marina and the Diamonds – Indie Pop; Something With Numbers-  Alternative Rock; Birds of Tokyo – Alternative Rock; AFI – Alternative Rock; Michael Penn – Adult Alternative; Aimee Mann – Adult Alternative; Panic! At The Disco – Pop Punk; The Panics – Indie Rock; My Friend the Chocolate Cake – Adult Alternative; Cirque du Soleil – New Age; Angus and Julia Stone – Folk; Arcade Fire – Indie Rock/Art Rock; Architecture in Helsinki – Indie Pop; The Bats – Rock; Gotye – Indie Rock/Alternative Rock; Carl Sagan – Vocal/Awesome; Clare Bowditch and the Feeding Set – Folk; Concrete Blonde – Alternative Rock; The Cops – Rock; The Cranberries – Alternative Rock/Celtic Rock; Crowded House – Pop Rock; Daft Punk – House/Electronica; The Decemberists – Indie Folk Rock; Dire Straights – Rock; Does It Offend You, Yeah? – Dance Punk/Indie Rock; Edwyn Collins – Alternative Rock; Elliot Smith – Indie Rock/Indie Folk; Evermore – Pop Rock; Faker – Alternative Rock; Franz Ferdinand – Indie Rock/Dance Punk; The Grates – Indie Rock/Alternative Rock; Gypsy & The Cat – Indie Pop; Hunters & Collectors – Rock; Infected Mushroom – Trance/Electronica; The Jezabels – Indie Rock/Alternative Rock; Kaiser Chiefs – Pop/Post Punk Revival; Kasey Chambers & Shane Nicholson – Country; Kate Miller-Heidke – Alternative Pop; Kirsty MacColl – Pop; Klaxons – Indie Rock; Little Birdy – Indie Rock; Missy Higgins – Alternative/Indie; Oasis – Rock; Operator Please – Pop; Owl City – Electronica/Synthpop; Paul Kelly – Rock/Folk; Pendulum – Electronica; R.E.M. – Alternative Rock; Regurgitator –  Alternative Rock/Experimental; Sarah Blasko – Indie Pop; Sane Nicholson – Rock; Sia – Alternative Rock/Pop; Sigur Ros – Ambient/Post Rock; The Smiths – Alternative Rock; Split Enz – Art Rock/New Wave; Spoon – Indie Rock; Stephen Cummings – Rock; Sugar Army – Rock; They Might Be Giants – Alternative Rock; Utada Hikaru – J-pop; The Whitlams – Indie Rock; YUKI – J-pop; Aston – Classical; Angela Aki – J-pop

Wow … that’s pretty intense … maybe don’t try to read it all, might hurt your eyes … good music, though.

(Played around the with the genres now, I think they’re all pretty correct … let me know if I’m wrong :))

One thought on “The Playlist of Treading Twisted Lines

Leave a Reply

