Television Plays Re-runs Like Stepping On Necks

I think it was the day before yesterday that I woke up with the tail-end of some pretty intense NREM sleep thoughts still running rings through my head. Repeating them a few times as I blearily entered the day, unsure whether they were important or not (as in, whether they were potentially related to a story) and unwilling to lose them in case they were, it was only as I came completely awake that I realised these words made pretty much no sense whatsoever. Not so unusual for sleep thoughts, I’m sure, whether they’re REM or NREM. Still, remembering them as I did has me trying to reason them out.

So, this thought, these words, were as follows:

The television played re-runs like stepping on necks.

At least, I think it was stepping on necks. Might have been chopping off heads, but I don’t think it was quite that violent.

So, now I’m trying to force meaning on this poor nonsensical simile-thing, something that was probably never meant to have meaning in the first place. Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

1 – That television plays too many re-runs, and this is likened to someone having their neck stood on because the sheer number of times they’ve seen the show is painful

2 – That television often plays re-runs, and this is likened to someone having their neck stood on because the shows that are being re-run are so terrible they were painful to watch the first time, let alone again and again

3 – That it’s painful when only re-runs are being played on television, and there are no good, new, original shows being produced

4 – That everybody steps on so many necks – as in get on others’ nerves? – so often that this phenomenon can be compared to television that plays nothing but re-runs

5 – A huge number of re-runs are being played on television, and someone (a criminal or psychopath, presumably) has stepped on so many necks/injured/killed so many people in their career that they can be likened to these never-ending re-runs

I’m not sure any of these make any real sense. Maybe if there’d been a few more words included in the thought, perhaps “the television played re-runs like insert person’s name or pronoun here steps on necks,” meaning might be easier to conjure. However, I’m fairly sure it’s not important. Not related to any stories, definitely not a simile I was trying to create before going to sleep.

So. Television plays re-runs like stepping on necks. Any thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Television Plays Re-runs Like Stepping On Necks

  1. NREM sleep thoughts
    Television plays re-runs like stepping on necks
    I blearily entered the day
    Meaning might be easier to conjure
    If there’d been a few more words

    I think you’ve got yourself a poem in there, Ms. Madden. Hugs, V

Leave a Reply

