Homecoming Gifts and Long-Awaited First Assessments

Woke up after arriving back in Brisbane yesterday evening to a lovely homecoming present – my first book review.

A fellow Smashwords author called Sam Seudo – I read one of his short stories last year, and really got into it – wrote a wonderful review of The Chosen Voice, giving it four out of five stars. His assessment was extensive, drew attention to both good points and less-well-executed aspects, summed up his overall opinion … pretty much everything someone could want in a first review. He even helped me realise something important about one of the lead characters, which will affect how I write her again. If she pops up in the story cycle again. She probably will. I at least want one more appearance from her, even if it’s brief.

Think I’ll have to up the number of reviews I write for my fellow Smashwords authors. It’s just such a lovely thing to find in your email, that someone you’ve never met has read and honestly appraised your work. Something all writers should have the true pleasure of experiencing.

Adelaide was fine. Hot, though. But dry. Spent time with some good people, a few of them even quite like-minded to me. And the concert went reasonably well after a week of intensive rehearsals, though the first half was better than the second, I think. A good festival, all in all. Nice to be blogging again, though. My poor calendar’s looking so sad.

Leave a Reply

