It’s All in the Family

Generally, what I do here on this blog falls into three categories:

1) Attempts at written creativity (cinquains, additions to Behind Glass, pictures in 100 words, etc)

2) Chronicles of experiences that I relate in some way to my writing, or to writing in general

3) Journalistic, self-indulgent entries describing how my writing is progressing, my current situation, or attempting to advertising my self-published short stories

A post might fall into all three of these categories, sometimes just the one. Perhaps there’s some strange, quasi-category that a post or two might better be categorised as. However, for the sake of my point, these three will suffice.

My point is, pretty much everything I do or think is related, however obscurely, to writing. My major creative pursuit. And I can’t help but think this has something to do with how I was raised, as my three siblings are all rather creatively inclined as well, in their own ways.

Sister Erin is an awesome photographer, and possesses significant musical talent, to say nothing of the intimidating height of her writing ability.

Sister Frannie comes up with such brilliant, unique ideas and stories, and her concepts for computer games, not to mention how amazing they look when she implements them with her l33t skills, are just incredible.

Brother Liam has sickening musical ability, and on top of playing several instruments (percussion and drum kit being his specialty), has composed several gorgeous pieces of music – at one point, I had one of them playing on repeat.

Mum and Dad are both wonderful writers and music lovers; I doubt we’d have found our paths without them.

And now, to use this blog to show off one of my sibling’s creativity, instead of my own. Frannie’s been working on a fan game based on BBC’s Sherlock, and she just released a few GIFs on her tumblr blog Evil Rabbit showing her preliminary work.

She built everything in that room herself using stills from the TV show as a reference, and I think it looks just amazing. Love Sherlock’s little deduction flashing up as he enters the room. I can’t wait to play it when it’s done.

Leave a Reply

