Setting Deadlines to Streamline the Writing Process

Wrote two chapters over two days this week. Probably the most I’ve written at once since National Novel Writing Month. I brought it up briefly when a friend asked how I was going. Cause that’s how I interpret that question.

How are you going = how’s your writing going

He has a large project coming up, and asked how I managed it. I claimed by setting deadlines, and writing 1000 words a day, whether I feel like it or not.

The second one I don’t really follow. I try to. When I’m really on a roll, I can get out between 3000 and 6000 a day; I think my record is around 9000 (much easier to accomplish when unemployed). But only over short periods do I generally keep this up. Suppose everything averages out in the end. Sort of.

Setting proper deadlines, however, I find works really well. When there’s no deadline, I just kind of potter around, jump between main projects and side projects, plan a bit, read over a few things. But when I have a date to work towards, like the last day of November during NaNoWriMo, everything kind of streamlines. I can focus. I’m inspired. I don’t want anything to distract me, and it doesn’t. I don’t remember feeling stressed out during NaNoWriMo, either. 30 November was approaching, nice and calmly and slowly. And I knew I’d meet it

Maybe that wasn’t stressful in November as I knew if I didn’t meet it all would be well. The deadline I’ve currently got is mostly the same deal. I’d be highly disappointed if I didn’t meet it, but it wouldn’t spell the end for me.

Decided last week that Pulp Runner (the NaNoWriMo novel) wasn’t ready for the young adult novel competition I plan to enter come the end of March. So, decided to work full throttle on Tom, instead. He’s not quite finished, but I’ve been working on him a lot longer, and I’m more satisfied with the story in general. The plan is to pump out the final four chapters (after the two I wrote across Monday and Tuesday) fairly quickly – I have reams of notes filling my pink book for them – then spend until the end of February editing. Hopefully, I can find a few people to read it for me quick-smart, and I mean to send it on 10 March. Could probably wait a few days longer. But it has to be sent conventionally, and reach its destination by 29 March. Would rather have a bit of leeway.

A lot of work to do. Not hugely worried I haven’t been churning out the same word count over the last few days. Was working on a timeline, and getting a few resultant small, but major edits out of the way. And I’ve mostly written one of the most important parts of chapter 22 already – it was one of the earliest things I wrote for Tom.

The Pink Book is almost full, by the way. It won’t have enough room to finish Tom’s notes. But that’s okay. Already got some nice new ones to start as soon as it’s full. And a lot of stuff for Tom’s sequel is in the pink book, anyway. A bit of crossover is fine.

Now almost full, it has served me well

Now almost full, it has served me well

So, deadlines. Might seem obvious to set them. I’d recommend it, if you’re not. Once Tom’s done, I’ll have to set a good deadline for the next Treading Twisted Lines story. Think I’m developing a bit of a block against it. Hopefully setting a publishing date will kick me into churning it out.

5 thoughts on “Setting Deadlines to Streamline the Writing Process

  1. Pingback: Let’s self-sabotage shall we? | Zara ~ a writing story

  2. Pingback: Happy March Madness! | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  3. Pingback: Writing daily. | Sandscriber

  4. Pingback: Get Writing – Working Within Deadlines | A Writer Inspired

  5. Pingback: Get Writing – Working Within Deadlines | A Writer Inspired

Leave a Reply

