20 From 45: Top Songs of ’93 to ’13

Time for a highly self-indulgent post.

When I listen to the radio, I listen to Triple J, a national music station here in Australia. Not as unrelated to that point as you’d think, I have a great love of lists. Subsequently, every Australia Day (26 January) I am near incapacitated by Triple J’s Hottest 100, an all-day countdown of the best songs of the previous year as voted by the listeners.  Every now and then, Triple J has another countdown in addition to this annual event – Best Australian Albums and Best Songs of All Time come to mind. Recently, they’ve announced yet another great list of music:  Top 20 Songs of the Last 20 Years.

Must select best songs since ’93. Sister Erin is way ahead of me in this, but I sat down tonight and got all nostalgic with iTunes, downloaded a favourite song that for some reason wasn’t already in my library, and managed to compile this list. Many of these songs hail from defining points in my life, some are guilty pleasures, still more were pivotal in inspiring characters and events in my stories. I maintain my first novel wouldn’t even have been written without one of the songs on this list.  Unfortunately, I’m only allowed 20.  I currently have 45.  Partway through the culling process and thought I’d share how it’s going.

Hope you look up a few songs that you don’t know. A lot can be learned about a person by their music choices, I believe. Learn, if you wish, from this list. Let me know what you think 🙂

This is going to be a long blog below …

Key:  Bold – definite;  Italics – culled 😦

Soho Square – Kirsty MacColl (1993)

Distant Sun – Crowded House (1993)

Video – Ben Folds Five (1995)

Morning Glory – Oasis (1995)

Your Ship Has Gone – My Friend the Chocolate Cake (1996)

The Song Formerly Known As – Regurgitator (1997)

No Aphrodisiac – The Whitlams (1997)

The Impression That I Get – The Mighty Mighty Bostones (1997)

Cigarettes Will Kill You – Ben Lee (1997)

Waltz #2 – Elliott Smith (1998)

Shimmer – Fuel (1998)

Larger Than Life – Backstreet Boys (1999)

Learn to Fly – Foo Fighters (1999)

Hey Boy, Hey Girl – The Chemical Brothers (1999)

Freestyler – Bomfunk MCs (1999)

Gravity – The Superjesus (2000)

Yellow – Coldplay (2000)

Harder Better Faster Stronger – Daft Punk (2001)

Weapon of Choice – Fatboy Slim (2001)

Monsters – Something For Kate (2001)

(Baby, I’ve Got You) On My Mind – Powderfinger (2003)

Scar – Missy Higgins (2004)

Zebra – The John Butler Trio (2004)

Godhopping – Dogs Die in Hot Cars (2004)

Apple of the Eye (Lay Me Down) – Something With Numbers (2006)

Come And Check Your Head – Blue King Brown (2006)

Hearts A Mess – Gotye (2006)

The Beast – Angus and Julia Stone (2007)

Don’t Fight It – The Panics (2007)

Embrace – Pnau (2007)

Farewell Rocketship – Children Collide (2008)

Burn Bridges – The Grates (2008)

Dawn Of The Dead – Does It Offend You, Yeah? (2008)

Rabbit Heart – Florence + the Machine (2009)

Come On Come On – Little Birdy (2009)

Fireflies – Owl City (2009)

The Rake’s Song – The Decemberists (2009)

Tongues In Cheek – Sugar Army (2009)

Mace Spray – The Jezabels (2010)

Watercolour – Pendulum (2010)

Mowgli’s Road – Marina and the Diamonds (2010)

M.O.A.B. – Project 46 (2011)

Varuo – Sigur Ros (2012)

Little Talks – Of Monsters and Men (2012)

Paddling Out – Miike Snow (2012)

AMENDMENT!!!!! ACTUALLY 46 SONGS!!!!!

Take Me Out – Franz Ferdinand (2004)

4 thoughts on “20 From 45: Top Songs of ’93 to ’13

  1. Pingback: The Music Remains Radiant | doll thermometer

Leave a Reply

