Captured by the Path

A picture in 100 words …

Taken 14 January 2013 on the walkway to the beach at Victor Harbor near Adelaide, South Australia

Taken 14 January 2013 on the boardwalk to the beach at Victor Harbor near Adelaide, South Australia

With a slight bend, the boardwalk vanishes amid the vivid green abutting the sand. The ocean of rushes it floats atop is dry and brittle. Juxtaposed to the contrast of a sea we know is just beyond but can barely see, the pale strands weave and sway with the coastal wind, drawing us along the path to the cool shadows.

The wood is sturdy underfoot as we walk, handrail beneath our fingertips warmed by the afternoon. We pause and breathe of the salt. Jude beckons me on, but I am captured by the path.

From here, it has no end.

2 thoughts on “Captured by the Path

  1. Not sure if I’ve told you this before, but I have long since decided that I am going to retire to Victor Harbour. (And I agree with your inserting a “u” into it; it needs one. Maybe the first thing to campaign for when I move there in forty years time.)

    • I didn’t know that 🙂 Tis a very pretty place. I always stick that “u” in – words just don’t look right without it. I’m sure you will convince all the good Victor Harbour citizens of that fact, too.

Leave a Reply

