Still Very Little Of The Blogginess

Excepting when I’ve been far away from any computer for an extended period of time, I think this has been the longest time I’ve been so seriously without the blogginess. At least on other writing fronts things are starting to look a bit better.

The other day while riding the bus and walking the rest of the way to work, I planned an entire Treading Twisted Lines story – shall probably be number 6 or 7. I had to stop in the middle of the path and just stand there for 10 minutes or so to record as much as I could on my smaller iDevice.  This story came from wanting to give the Four Free Areas its own dominant fast food chain and the observation that there were a lot more bugs around than usual that morning. I’m liking how it flowed so easily – much more like how I wrote the first three, not like how I’m still struggling with number 4. The day after that, I expanded on the basic idea of another Treading Twisted Lines story – I’m not sure whereabouts it’ll be in the series. Probably not too far away. I should probably write the ones that I actually know, first.

On another note, as this year’s NaNoWriMo approaches – I’m probably not going to participate, with work playing havoc with my writing as it is – I’ve dug out last year’s effort – Pulp Runner, if you remember – and am putting it through a harsh, split-screen, re-type edit. It needs it, unfortunately. I need to re-work the ending and thread more references to it and the villain character (if he can be called that – a rather pathetic villain, really) throughout, not to mention simplify the protagonist’s internal dilemmas. Well, not simplify as such. Just convey them more simply. Or better. Just better.

Will probably have to put the first novel through a similar split-screen, re-type edit, but decided to do Pulp Runner first – it’s much shorter and I’m a coward. Been putting stuff together in bits and pieces for Behind Glass, as well, and a story I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned on the doll thermometer, before. I’ll call it Leonard, here. Originally he was being entirely handwritten as something to keep me occupied at school in Japan when I wasn’t given any work, but I’ve just about decided to shift back to typing and use the rest of his notebook for planning.

Shall aim to write a randomly generated scene in the next week – it’ll be my first free weekend in what probably isn’t forever, but quite feels like it, at the moment.

Most exciting news that I think I forgot to mention in the gloom of upcoming elections and the misery of the aftermath:  I sent inquiry letters re Missing Exhibit to a few literary agents and one of them requested to see the first 30 pages. She’s had them for a few weeks, now. I’m keeping as many phalanges crossed as I can and freaking out every time I check my phone for emails during work, hoping that she asks to see the rest. But I’m feeling pretty good, even if she decides she doesn’t want to represent me 🙂 If I got past the first stage once, I can do it again.

So. There’s a good, long waffle on about not really very much. I’ll try to do better. I don’t know if I’ll be able to blog again the way I did in the beginning, though. I could just go on about anything, hopefully in a vaguely interesting fashion. Sadly, I don’t think I’ve grown particularly as a blogger as of yet, unless it’s more lazy. I’ll try to figure out a new posting routine. Soon. Maybe that’ll help.

If anyone has any tips for keeping their blogs going strong when feeling quite swamped, feel free to instruct me in your wise ways 🙂

Leave a Reply

